BU receives number of nominations in Student Radio Awards

Student radio at Bournemouth University has been recognised with a number of nominations for the Student Radio Awards (SRAs).

Online radio station BIRSt, which is run by BU MA Radio Production students, has been shortlisted in the Student Station of the Year category, while MA Production student Aoife Allen has been nominated for Newcomer of the Year.

Aoife, who has just finished her Master’s degree at BU, was Head of Marketing for BIRSt and worked on a variety of content for the station – including audio drama, alternative Irish music shows and a female-led current affairs discussion show.

She said: “I think it was the opportunity I had at BIRSt to delve into all the areas of a radio station, both on and off-air, that has led to the nomination, in conjunction with being lucky enough to have had a team of nine other amazing producers to work alongside.”

Former Nerve Radio station manager Charlotte Gay has also been shortlisted for Best Female Presenter at the Awards.

“When I found out, I was ecstatic,” said Charlotte, who is graduating from the BA Multimedia Journalism course with a First Class Honours degree in November.

“It’s something I’ve worked really hard to achieve over the past three years working with Nerve Radio and even just to be nominated is something I am extremely proud of.

“Radio presenting is something I’ve wanted to do since leaving school and from working with Nerve I realised this was actually possible.”

The Student Radio Awards are run by the Student Radio Association and celebrates the best of student radio nationwide, as well as launching the next generation of radio talent into the industry.

Previous winners have included the likes of Radio 1 DJs Greg James and Scott Mills, with prizes including work experience on big radio shows, one off shows on major networks or equipment for student radio stations.

Jo Tyler, a Radio Production lecturer at BU, said: “BIRSt produces drama, features and programmes on demand and has had many exciting innovative projects on air such as a live ‘choose your own adventure’ drama.

“I am very proud that BIRSt 2013 been nominated for SRA Best Station of The Year alongside their peers in Student Radio with much bigger production teams.

“The course develops production skills and theory evident here and Aoife Allen, nominated in the Best Newcomer category is proof that if you engage with the medium at this level you can produce great work. “

The awards ceremony takes place in London on November 7th.