BU Faculties: What do I need to know?

Posted on Friday, February 20 2015

BU’s move from ‘Academic Schools’ to ‘Faculties’ got underway at the end of last year, and we hope that the change has had very little impact on your day-to-day experience.

In addition to the existing Faculty of Science & Technology, the three new Faculties are:

  • Faculty of Media & Communication, incorporating the current Media School and Law.
  • Faculty of Management, incorporating the current Business School and School of Tourism.
  • Faculty of Health & Social Sciences, incorporating the School of Health and Social Care.

The move towards a Faculty structure will provide you with greater opportunities for collaborative study across the whole University, and as previous students have done, you will continue to graduate from your course and BU (as opposed to one of BU’s academic areas).

The move has also allowed us to establish a sound foundation for future investment in our existing areas of academic strength, and more scope to develop new subject areas. The names of the Faculties were chosen to reflect our subject areas, strengths and contributions to society – they also reflect that BU is maturing as an institution and brings us in line with other, well established, universities around the world.

To help develop the Faculties we are recruiting an additional 30 academic staff, and there may be some changes to roles within the management structure. The impact on your lecturers and tutors should be minimal.

You’ll also see our website and signage change over the coming months to reflect our new Faculties structure.

If you have any questions you can read the FAQs, contact SUBU President, Chloe Schendel-Wilson at or talk to your Student Rep.